Yes, I’m still here…

…and to those guys who showed concern and worry during my long-ish absence, I’m fine. Two important things, though: the hard drive containing a lot of my unpublished research crashed, including a good amount that I have not been able to back up; and, I have been quite busy with a (relatively) new job over the past few months, details of which I cannot discuss here.

In short, I’m fine, and I hope you guys will still be here when I’m actually back. Happy Holidays!

~ Jan

4 Responses to Yes, I’m still here…

  1. Oscar says:

    Good to know you’re OK. i was really worried.
    I guess won’t have the pleasure of your company on Mma.SE for along time, at least based on your mysterious message. So much secrecy!
    My best wishes and hope to see you around someday.

    Belisarius

    • J. M. says:

      Hello, Oscar/Bel, thanks for the concern. I’m sure the other guys are also wondering about me. In any event, I should be able to get back to the site in a week or so, hopefully.

  2. Emily says:

    Tpfto,

    I am doing a presentation on catenary curves for my high school calculus and I was wondering if you could post the codes for the rotation of a parabola about the x axis to produce a catenary curve. I just started using mathematica last week and I can’t figure out how to create that.

    • J. M. says:

      Hello Emily; rather unfortunately I’ve lost the *Mathematica* notebook I wrote for the rolling catenary. However, I did write this post that might help you write your own animation yourself.

      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

